Change In New York City and In Life


Nearing the 11th anniversary I find myself a lot calmer, more at ease than I once was the reality of life less surreal. Things are truly beginning to heal at least for me. Osama is dead, and I have flown all across the country not as vigilant as I was once, more relaxed in crowds, less volatile in spirit. I have realized during these polarizing times that if I were to be harmed in an act of terrorism it is more probable that I would die at the hands of my own countrymen in a crowded shopping mall or at a political rally then through the actions inspired by some eastern world religious fervor.

The city seems to be going about things rather slowly enjoying this beautiful fall weather and taking strolls through parks. This has been after all New Yorker’s last weekend opportunity to escape before the fourth quarter rush into the holiday season. Ironically, I haven’t met many people who have been dreading reentering the fray of corporate life. This summer has come and gone without much calamity…at least here in New York.

The final touches on the towers downtown are being completed and home is beginning to feel a lot like home again. Being away seven years after 2001 really helped ease things though I did not expect Hell’s Kitchen to become the gayborhood that it is now. It’s unfortunate to see that there are no families here. Maybe as the residents get older I will see a lot more gay families as oppose to just men tweaking out on cocaine and molly with their stereotypical hag friends in tow and overly sassy feminine demeanor. Maybe manors will come back, maybe women will see that they can’t be neo-feminist anymore. You’re either a feminist, a family oriented woman or a self-involved sex in the city worshiping bar slag.

Good times…

The one thing that I ask of New York and I think everyone who has been out of school for three years can agree is to get rid of unpaid internships and give incentives for companies outside of the financial industry to hire more permanent entry-level and associate employees. This is getting to be a bit too much in terms of the lack of protection twenty-somethings have in this city. We spend more money per capita than baby boomers, purchase more luxury items than baby boomers and are more in tuned with contemporary methods of work and management yet there are still no laws being drafted or ideas being put in motion to get us into a position of steady income in order to stimulate the economy in ways our retiring parents refuse to do. It is truly sad that we are being neglected in such a big picture way.

My concerns have become more real, more of substance, and logical as of late. I don’t know why but I am more focused more in stride with and tune with the real problems and positive change occurring here at home. Thank god for that.

How have you been feeling the last decade? What changes do you want to see implemented so that life is a little easier? How has your New York home changed for you?

Leave a Reply

